City of Regina writing award ceremony 2024

Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild to celebrate the 2024 City of Regina Writing Award on Thursday, May 9 at 7:00 pm at Wascana Place (2900 Wascana Drive). The Award show will honour winner Iryn Tushabe and runners-up Ryshia Kennie and Elaine McArthur and will feature readings by all three writers.

Iryn Tushabe is a Ugandan-Canadian writer whose creative nonfiction and short fiction has been published in numerous publications. Her debut novel, Everything is Fine Here, is forthcoming with House of Anansi Press in Winter 2025. She won the $4500 prize for her project “Saved”, a collection of creative nonfiction essays the jury praised for their “fresh approach, polish and power”.

The event will also honour runners up Ryshia Kennie for her novel “Broken” and Elaine McArthur for her Young Adult novel “Akicita”. This is a free event open to the public; all are welcome. Reception with entertainment and cash bar to follow the program.

Registration :


May 09 2024


7:00 pm - 8:30 pm


Wascana Place (2900 Wascana Drive)